Recent Buy – KSU

ksu

Usually I don’t announce my incremental purchases, preferring instead to report in bulk as part of my monthly recap.  There are occasions when an exception is warranted so I figured I’d share my thought process with this week’s post – and the subsequent events.

Kansas City Southern is the smallest of the Class I railroads in the US and operates in Mexico through a wholly owned subsidiary.  Since the election, it has been beaten down as Mexico is reviewing its’ concession, concerns over NAFTA trade and a weakened peso (impacting earnings).

While reviewing my holdings last weekend, I noticed:

  1. The price appeared to have hit bottom and began moving higher
  2. The current price was significantly lower than my $115.07 cost basis
  3. The ex-dividend date was around the corner (Jun 12th)
  4. The Mexican peso has risen over 5% (now 6%) against the USD since October

Figuring there was minimal downside left, on Monday (June 5th) I bought enough (at $95.87) to average down my cost basis to $98.69 – though it’s still less than 1% of my portfolio.

Where it gets interesting is:

  • June 6th – US and Mexico reach agreement on sugar trade – KSU closes at $96.57
  • June 7th – US appears to seek resolution in lumber spat with Canada ($97.46 close)
  • June 8th – Guy Adami (CNBC’s Fast Money) announces position ($98.86 close)
  • June 9th – Pete Najarian (Fast Money) announces position ($99.59 close)

I certainly did not expect this level of activity but sure am glad I chose to average down when I did.  Also not sure what option activity got Fast Money’s attention but suspect we’ll see a little pullback as we go ex-dividend.  Still, 3.7% price improvement in a week and now I’m no longer underwater plus the dividend (small though it may be) – have to say it was a good week!

Now to attempt an encore …

2 thoughts on “Recent Buy – KSU

  1. Yeah, but I tend to get cautious when I get instant gratification (up another 4% this week even going ex-div). The only news I found was a report on Canadian oil trains increasing because of insufficient pipeline capacity. This would be bullish for CNI and CP (and TRP, ENB,and KMI) and in particular KSU as both Canadian railroads appear to be onboard to use KSU’s new Pt. Arthur, TX oil terminal (co-owned by GLP).

    Thanks for visiting!

    Like

Leave a Reply

