Of This and That

Periodically I piece together thoughts based on my internet browsing or events garnering recent headlines.  Some may have an impact on my portfolio or strategy, others are only  food for thought.   For your entertainment, I present my latest installment.

Cuba Revisited

Previously I wrote on Cuba themed investing .  Yesterday’s headline delivered the news of Fidel Castro’s death.  Regardless of individual feelings on the Cuba issue, the fact remains the current trajectory is for further easing of sanctions.  It will, however, be an interesting first test for the new president pitting his stance on increasing exports versus his campaign rhetoric on rolling back Obama’s executive actions and the promises made to the Cuban Americans in Florida.  At the very least, the Canadians are likely chuckling at Trump’s conundrum as they never had an embargo to begin with.  A couple of articles are linked below.

(Long: SGBK, KOF)

28 November 2016, Mastercards (MA) issued by Banco Popular (BPOP) and NatBank (NA.TO, NTIOF) are currently valid by Executive Order (Obama) as well.

School Transportation

Also in the headlines this past week was the school bus tragedy in Chattanooga, TN.  Knowing there are four bloggers invested in school bus transportation services, I figured it was time to perform a little research.  There appear to be three major players in the space, two from the UK and one from Canada.  The largest is apparently First Student (FGP.L), followed by National Express Group (NEX.L), with Student Transportation (STB) in third.  First Group’s dividend has been suspended for a couple of years and National Express has been flirting with being acquired but with suitors leaving her at the altar.  National Express has Durham School Services as a subsidiary which was involved in the accident.  Our four blogger friends are all invested in STB.

The New Healthcare?

One of the bigger questions surrounding the new administration is the direction to be taken with healthcare.  In all likelihood changes are coming but to what end?  Outside my fondness for HSA/FSA managers, a plausible argument has emerged pertaining to Medicare insurers.

(Long: UNH, HUM)

Philanthropy

One blogger displays the fact that he is a philanthropist.  Now this got me thinking.  I’m old school and think of the likes of a Carnegie (public libraries) when considering the term.  My opinion is that this title is earned by – or bestowed upon – individuals based on works and deeds over a significant period of time.  Considering my net worth is greater than his (but his growth trajectory is increasing) and his portfolio has performed similarly to mine, left me scratching my head.  I do consider myself charitable but think philanthropy takes charity to another level.  Thinking that perhaps I’m operating in the past, I looked at the Urban Dictionary‘s definition which says, “one who gives money to charity, often associated with the wealthy and given a negative connotation by people who have never donated more than a dime at McDonald’s.”  Hmm … perhaps we are all (or most of us) philanthropists.

Until next time.

Leave a Reply

