Feb 2016 Update

February was a month that saw more volatility caused by oil prices, China, and negative interest rates – or a fear thereof.  This month I pretty much was able to buy  the dips.  At month end, Warren Buffet released his annual letter.  Call it coincidence, but his words seemed to have a calming effect.  Due to valuations (other than PEP), I did not add to my Anchor, Core, or Satellite positions.

Blog Updates

  • No major updates

Portfolio Updates

  • Added to AGU – with spring around the corner, I figured I might as well.  Besides, it placed my Canadian holdings at 3.02% (for the moment).  Now to keep that level for my year end goal.
  • Added to LB – weakness after announcing a special dividend and dividend increase
  • Added to PEP on confusion.  They announced a dividend increase in an earnings press release.  It took a few days for the market to realize and adjust.
  • Added to PJT after they initiated a dividend.
  • Added to HYH on the nasty drop yesterday (and it recovered today)

Dividends

  • February delivered a resounding 122.7% increase over Feb 2015.  This was due primarily to the efforts during the last half of 2015 to boost my February payers plus some increases
  • February was down slightly from last quarter due to two dividends being paid in March.

With the S&P recording its’ second monthly loss, I’m pleased to report I was able to eke out a 1.84% gain for the month putting my portfolio positive (.24%) YTD.

Leave a Reply

