Portfolio Structure

Whimsical Dividends recently wrote a piece on monthly dividends – posing some good and thoughtful questions.  So rather than answer in a lengthy response, I figured this would be a good starting point for my weekly (or thereabouts) post.

When I first started investing one of my goals was to build a monthly paying portfolio.  This goal was achieved many years ago.  But when I retired, I guess I had too much time on my hands so I wondered if it was possible to build a weekly paying portfolio.  To this end I have pretty much succeeded.

My research began with Dave Fish’s CCC list.  A wonderful repository of data.  I also used articles by Dividend House as a resource.  Although she’s a recent convert to DGI, and I’m not at all in full agreement with some selections, her style and illustrations make her a must read.

My end result is I have placed 26 companies (of about 105 in my portfolio) into three categories, segmented by quarter, with two payees per week.  The result is (almost) weekly payments.

(updated 26 Oct due to PNY merger)

1 A Kimberly-Clark KMB 1 C PNC Financial PNC 1 A WEC Energy WEC
2 C Piedmont Nat. PNY 2 A Clorox CLX 2 C 3M MMM
3 C Sysco SYY 3 C Legacy Texas LTXB 3 C Home Depot HD
4 C Bnk of The Ozarks OZRK 4 C Starbucks SBUX 4 C Blackrock BLK
1 S PepsiCo PEP 1 S Blackstone BX 5 C ADP ADP
2 C First Long Island FLIC 2 S Apple AAPL 1 S Southside Banc. SBSI
3 S Comcast CMCSA 3 S Lakeland Bancorp LBAI 2 S Chevron CVX
4 S Lake Sunapee Bnk LSBG 4 S Webster Financial WBS 3 S Norfolk Southern NSC
 2  S  First Midwest  FMBI 4 S Flushing Financial FFIC
5 S Wesbanco WSBC
2 thoughts on “Portfolio Structure

  1. Awesome!! Thank you so much for the resource, and for the mention on your site. Truly is an honor to be on that roll!

    Now to do my research through your stocks, and find out how to incorporate them into my portfolio. 🙂 Bookmarked the article!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

